I thought you were kidding about UAS...

nmb

Reaction score
...but here I am now with my second ukulele already! My first was a Kala concert that I thought long and hard about and never would have felt confident buying without the information that I got here. I love that instrument and it sounds great and it's incredible how much better it makes me feel to sit down with that uke and play a few songs in the evening. It's good for the soul.

So good for the soul that I decided I need another ukulele for the office. Since I'm a college professor and our school's colors are black and orange, it seemed like a no-brainer to get an orange dolphin-bridge Makala.

orange_makala.jpg

It arrived this afternoon and at first I wasn't thrilled with the sound, but I replaced the strings it came with (I got a double-set of Worths when I bought the Kala.) and now it sounds fantastic! The soprano size is a bit of an adjustment, and the strings are still settling down, but for $40 (plus $5-ish for strings) this is a much finer instrument than I expected. Very excited to go to work tomorrow! Thanks UU forums for giving me a pleasant case of UAS!

Attachments

• orange_makala.jpg
    orange_makala.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 8
Just wait, it's only the beginning, it gets worse. And nice color on the dolphin!

I have a Dolphin, too! I agree that it's a good instrument for the money, and replacing the strings is a must. (I have Ko'olau Golds on my blue Dolphin, and the yellow strings look very pretty. But I'm going to continue experimenting with strings... because I like to. :D) It's also a great 'uke for having around the office. Very cheerful and fun! Glad you found one in your school's colors!

UAS is not a joke. I've been playing for a year and I just got my fifth uke, if you don't count my son's yellow Dolphin, which I don't even thought I play it more than him, because if I counted it well...then I'd really seem crazy right?

Good luck keeping the ukulele buying monster at bay.