Peghed tuners: bleah

Bevelsnob

Reaction score
Peghed tuners

Hi all,

I own a nice Collings Tenor, and love the uke. But I find the Peghed tuners to be imprecise. In fact, I'm surprised Collings chose to use them. They're a nifty concept, with the gears hidden and all, but their accuracy leaves a lot to be desired IMO.

Am I the only one who doesn't like them?
I'm wondering if there's another better product on the market that I could replace these tuners with.

Ideas? Thoughts?

Thanks,
Scott

Last edited:
I just recently encountered Pegheds for the first time on my DaSilva custom, and honestly, I LOVE them. LOVE!! I use an electronic tuner (my ear is not that sophisticated at this point) and this uke rarely even goes out of tune. I can't vouch for how accurate it is, but I think my uke instructor could, and he's never mentioned that I've been out of tune yet.

I apologize for going off topic, but dang, your uke is stunning!

I'm far from an expert but I feel the same as you. I have had one experience with them and didn't really care for them. They feel "cheap" because of the plastic and I didn't care for the 4:1 ratio, it's more difficult to be precise than a 14:1 tuner. I know the friction tuner "look" is what a lot of folks love, but I don't care for it. I can't vouch for how they stay in tune, but others do say they do that well.

I owned a ukulele with Pegheads, and mine stayed in tune, but despite the many who love then, I found them ugly, disproporionately long ooking, frail (if uke slides onto them, they'll break) and they look cheap on an expensive ukulele. That's my take.

Gotoh has the new planetary geared friction style tuners and there's a couple threads on em on UU now. I'll be getting those, without question.