Playing with someone else playing the guitar

jvarian

Reaction score
Ok,
I come from a guitar playing background.
(However dont know much about theory)

Im new to the uke and can play a few chords.

Ill give you an example.
Myself and my brother want to play a song together.
Him on the guitar
Me on the uke
If both of us play a C then it doesnt sound right.

Should I transpose back 5 steps?

A C chord on your uke is a G chord on his guitar. Have your brother capo the fifth fret & you will be playing the same notes/chords (except your reentrant high G & his additional two lower strings). Or you can transpose in your head since you also have a guitar background. I often jam w/guitar players & do the switch in my head.

Mahalo

A C chord on your uke is a G chord on his guitar. Have your brother capo the fifth fret & you will be playing the same notes/chords (except your reentrant high G & his additional two lower strings). Or you can transpose in your head since you also have a guitar background. I often jam w/guitar players & do the switch in my head.

Mahalo

So it would be fair to say the reverse also applies.
If i transpose backwards and play a G we would be ok?

Ok,

Ill give you an example.
Him on the guitar
Me on the uke

Not sure. I have been playing worship with my church for over a year now. I'm the only uke player. When they play a c...I play a c. SOunds fine.

It is a different sound but a C chord is a C chord...
Now if he is using a capo say capo 2 and playing the c shape, you would then need to change your chord as well or capo.

Ok,

Ill give you an example.
Him on the guitar
Me on the uke

a C is a C, whether on a guitar, piano, or bandura. maybe you guys are just out of tune? now if he is playing a D, and you try the same shape[assuming C tuning on uke] you are playing a G chord. hope that makes sense. Only on a bari will the G guitar chord be a G.