Questions about finishing top Kamaka lili'u.

Markr1

Reaction score
I need some help. First off I'm an amateur. I have the Kamaka lili'u that I had holes filled from a plaque and sprayed with laquer that i had someone else do. It looked decent I thought when I got it back but didn't really notice that it didn't have the shiny finish that the rest of the uke had. It really bothered me so I wet sanded the top with 600 grit with the idea to spray a glossy finish with a spray can. I know I'll have to do several if not many coats. I would also add that i sanded with my fingers. Should i sand again with a wood block so as to get a flat surface with no waves? I have several questions about this.

First off do you think this is a job I can take on myself?

Should I order some spray cans of clear nitro for the finish since I have heard Kamakas use nitro finishes?

Should I sand with an even finer sandpaper then 600 before spraying?

Do I wet sand with even finer sandpaper between coats after drying?

I wouldn't blame you if you don't want to take the time to help me as this was a really stupid thing I did but it's to late as there is no turning back now. Any thoughts or suggestions from you guys with experience so as I don't really screw this up. The luthier forum is the only place I could turn to for help as I know I will get good honest answers about what I have gotten myself into. I'll upload a few pics of the top of the uke of what I've sanded so far in a little bit.
Again I can't express enough of how much I know what a jam I've gotten myself into with such a fine uke.
Thanks for any help I get in advance. I'll take a beating from you guys on this as I deserve it.

Mark