Wood selection kiaat

AdrianK

Reaction score
I'm new to the world of soundboards and tonewoods and would like some advice regarding wood selection for the soundboard. I've noted that soft woods such as spruce and cedar are used quite often for soundboards and there isn't much mention of kiaat. What I could find out is that kiaat falls in the same category as bloodwood. Is it a good idea to use kiaat for a soundboard or should I rather go for the safe choice of cedar? And does anyone know what the sound characteristics is of kiaat?

http://soundandsilence.wordpress.com/2006/12/11/my-new-zouk/
that article is the only one I have found where is was used for anything but a rosette or a bridge.
Looks like they used it for sides and back. I am thinking it is more of a hard wood like ebony and would kill the sound.
Now that being said, and many luthiers cringe when they hear this, but people have used maple for tops, and it classically a sides and back wood.
that is my thoughts. I am hoping someone with more experience will chime in

The traditional woods for ukuleles were hardwoods - koa in Hawaii, mahogany in the mainland US. Softwood tops like cedar and spruce are more modern innovations.

I don't know this wood but it appears to be only a fraction denser than koa and is said to glue and finish well. See http://www.wood-database.com/lumber-identification/hardwoods/muninga/

If the board pings when tapped, it seems worth a try (unless someone has already tried it and found it has other defects).

It works for this instrument..so I don't see why not for a uke.
kiaat_zpsf07fdd9b.jpg