My First Ukulele, Tales of True Love...

savagehenry

Reaction score
I know that this has probably been done before but I just started reading a wonderful book called "My First Guitar, Tales of True Love and Lost Chords from 70 Legendary Musicians." It tells the story of the first guitar for people such as Jimmy Page, Les Paul, Scotty Moore and many more great musicians.

So, what was your first ukulele?

Mine was an Ohana PK25G, I liked the pineapple shape witht the cool headstock, and thought that it would be good to start off with a solid wood instrument.

I no longer have my first uke. When I first started at the store I work at, my plan was to learn the mandolin. I have been playing guitar for many years but never really took to it. I picked up the mandolin and realized I didn't like it due to the double-course of strings and the higher string tension than guitar. Feeling a bit bummed, I went searching for something else that would pique my interest and I saw an Oscar Schmidt OU2 collecting dust in a display. I pulled her out and fell in love with the uke.

It actually took about 5 or 6 months for UAS to kick in. We got a Fender Nohea in stock and I thought it was such a beautiful instrument that I bought it. Not long after I decided I was going to be "serious" about the ukulele and only wanted solid-wood instruments (I've since become less concerned about that). I went on a spending spree and ended up gifting both the OU2 and the Nohea to some friends.

I've lost track of the order in which I've bought all my ukes, but I have kept a list of every uke that I've owned. I just counted...not including the 15 in my signature, I've bought and then sold (or gifted) 39 ukuleles. I've been playing for just over 3 years. Wow...I think I might have a bit of a problem with UAS......

Last edited:
My first uke was a Samick u_50 concert. I called it Buzz (for a reason) sold it this summer as it was collecting dust...