PDA

View Full Version : Which finger?

Forkjulle
09-20-2012, 02:26 AM
As a matter of interest, which finger do you prefer strumming with? Currently, I use my index finger, but am wondering if middle finger is better in the long run. (I use a soprano.)

Since I'm a beginner of a week, I'm trying to get into good habits rather than bad habits. Coming from a guitar background, I find that my bad habits are difficult to break later on.

PhilUSAFRet
09-20-2012, 03:51 AM
My recommendation is that you use your forefinger. As you already know, "correct" fingering leads to a solid base for more advanced strumming and picking techniques as does correctly fingering chords. Many folks try and find an alternative to a difficult chord when, in the long run, would be better to practice until you "get it right."

Forkjulle
09-20-2012, 04:03 AM
Brilliant. Do you find it easier?

Ken Middleton
09-20-2012, 04:32 AM
My recommendation is that you use your forefinger. As you already know, "correct" fingering leads to a solid base for more advanced strumming and picking techniques as does correctly fingering chords. Many folks try and find an alternative to a difficult chord when, in the long run, would be better to practice until you "get it right."

Are you saying that the forefinger is the "correct" finger to strum with?

Freeda
09-20-2012, 04:55 AM
I somewhat sprained my index finger and using my middle finger isn't working, so going to use a pick for a bit.

buddhuu
09-20-2012, 08:49 AM
Index is probably most common. It's the one I use.

The best finger to strum with is the one that works best for you when you've tried them all. ;)

Dwjkerr
09-20-2012, 09:51 AM
Strumming with my pinky is just plain weird. But can be done.

Ken Middleton
09-20-2012, 10:39 AM

Absolutely! I use all the fingers for strumming, including the little finger.

Ken Middleton
09-20-2012, 10:39 AM

uke4ia
09-20-2012, 11:34 AM