UAS is tough

Reichpapers

Reaction score
So, my ukes have been multiplying, and not proportianally to me learning to play (which is slow and painful).

When I started, I figured I'd pick up a Martin S1, Nazereth, PA is a stones throw from me, so I figured it'd be best to support a PA company. It has to be the nicest made Uke I've touched yet..it's just a Soprano...and for some reason, I don't like playing such a small instrument. In steps a Cordoba 20TM...I liked the look and the price of the Uke...not too cheap, not too expensive...and it was a tenor...which seems to fit me size wise. I started playing a little better. Something about the Cordoba just sounds so smooth and likeable. Next, I started eyeing up a Fender tenor...I figured it had to be good because it was made by Fender :/. It sounds different, that's for sure...but I still like the Cordoba better. The Fender just sounds too hollow. No problem, lesson learned. Next I got on an eBay kick...I wanted an old ukulele, but I didn't want to spend much. In steps an old uke with cracks labeled "Du Barry Hand Made". It's from the 20's or 30's. It had 3 cracks, a lifting bridge, was filthy and the nut flew off. My local repairman thought it was very Martin like, and another person thought Favilla made it (Tom Favilla said they never made ukes under any name but Favilla). So far he is still a mystery...but my repairman just told me it was ready to pick up and that she (or he) sounded nice. Next, I wanted a Japanese ukulele (see where this is going). SO, I bought an old Gakki Luna from the 50's or 60's. I put some Aquila's on it and actually had fun playing it. Prompted me to pick up my Martin again. That lasted a few days before I was back to the Cordoba tenor. Next, I wanted to try a concert..who knows, that may be the perfect size for me. I bought a Cordoba 15CM...as I love Cordoba of course. I didn't like this one though. It sounded way too pronounced...if I played it light, it sounded nice, but when I got on it