Finger picking help

supahken

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new here. I just picked up the ukulele in July after a surgery I had - was stuck in bed for a few weeks so what better to do right?
I have no instrumental background. I've been playing mostly chords for awhile and I think I can do so with some clarity now.

Now, I'm starting to move onto some songs that require fingerpicking. I'm getting the hang of it going slow, but the problem is I keep hitting strings I don't want to between plucks when I try to speed up. I know it's a matter of practice, but I wonder if anyone has any other advice they can give a beginner. (Perhaps I've been moving my fingers in the wrong direction, etc.)

I learned mostly on my own using videos and sites. There's nothing too specific on any tutorials. They usually just say pluck and I follow their usual thumb and two fingers.

Also, at the risk of sounding like an impatient noobie, how long did it take you guys to get relatively good at finger picking? I just want a little perspective on everyone's improvement rate. I only have time to practice 30m-1hr a day.

I haven't "mastered" fingerpicking, but you do have to master the technique slowly...the speed will come when it comes. I was making the same mistake, trying to pick faster than my skill level would allow.....many noobs make this mistake. I often mute the strings and practice my picking while watching TV, during commercials. Works for me. Young folks tend to get it pretty quickly if their brain is "wired" for music. There's a 16 year old in my uke club that plays awesome after only 6 months!!!!!!!!! Learn it right, take your time, learn your chords, see fretboard roadmaps, and just keep on practicing.

Hi and welcome! I think you do just need to keep practicing, go slowly and try a little speed until you are making mistakes, then slow down again. And try to play without looking at your plucking hand - go by feel. I think that will really help you to improve. Good luck, stick with it!