Could I teach a uke class?

addicted2myuke

Reaction score
I recently took the 45 minute free class at Guitar Center and although the teacher was well intentioned and friendly, he is a guitar player and not familiar with the uke like someone who is teaching this instrument should be. He has only been playing the uke for 3 months and not consistantly so he was pretty mixed up with the proper way to teach a beginner some basic chords. He was trying to teach beginners the E chord. Yikes! I have been playing daily for almost 2 years and have a difficulty with that one myself. I get that Guitar Center is trying to sell some ukuleles, but there was no thought going into this class at all. There were only three of us, and the other two students had never picked up a uke before. They left with no more knowledge than when they arrived. I have taught courses in other things, (jewelry making, and bartending) and know how to teach beginners. This whole thing got me to thinking that I could teach beginner's uke. How would I go about this? Do I need a special permit? I love this instrument so much that I would teach for free, but can use the extra income. Any advice?

I think if you bill yourself as a teacher for beginner players, you would be fine. I highly doubt you need any particular qualifications to teach. Maybe the Guitar Center will want you to have something, but my guess is, that if you make the customers happy, the Guitar Center will be more than happy to have you teach there.

I have been playing for about 3 years myself and have also been giving some thought to teaching some lessons, though i've been thinking of working privately, not through a music school or store.

Let us know how it goes.