Book/DVD Recommendations

Daedle

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I've managed to give my dad the uke bug. I've been learning from tinternets and given him all the resources he needs. He's a tad old fashioned though and wants to learn from books or dvds. Any recommendations undergrounders?

a lot of the books out there are actually difficult unless you or your dad knows how to read music notation, or have someone to break it down.

It's not TOTALLY hard to understand, but way easier if someone who reads can show you. =)

There's a lot of books geared to the complete beginner! Heeday, Jumpin Jims, Mel Bay books... definitely buy the ukulele treasury of chords on roy sakuma's site.

as far as dvd's/vhs... I've bought jake's play loud dvd, peter moon's vhs, judy kamisato and roy sakuma's dvd's...
i'd say peter moon's is more for the intermediate/advanced player w/ Jake right behind a little easier... Jake's dvd is GREAT tho. The format of his lesson is constructed really well. Plus, there's great concert footage of him and his band. Everything else should be good starter footage.

On another note, I've never tried any of the other footage out there that are geared towards kids (Uncles Charlies, Ralph Shaw, etc... ). Don't know if you're dad would think that's too hokey?

Anyhow, I hope this helps. Best of luck!

I have the dvds Joey Jr. mentioned as well as a few others. I like Roy Sakuma's dvd and our own UU vids for the basics. I recommend Ukulele Chord Progressions (ebook) from Woodshed for the music theory - understanding the basics of music theory has helped me a lot.

There are other resources and I'll try to compile a listing of sorts. In the meanwhile here are a couple of sites you can go to for instructional books . . .
http://howtoplayukulele.com/
http://www.curtsheller.com/books_ukulele.shtml

DVD's by Ralph Shaw

Complete Ukulele Course for Ukulele DVD by Ralph Shaw
337180758.jpg

ESSENTIAL STRUMS Ukulele DVD by Ralph Shaw