How difficult is restringing?

Normagal

Reaction score
I am just beginning with my new Makala Dolphin uke. I have read that the strings that came on it are not good, but don't know if this should be an issue for me or not.

Would you get better strings? Would you recommend trying to restring it yourself? I see directions on line...but am not sure of hard it really is to do the first time. I'm sure I could take it to the local music store to do also.

Oh, the other thing I want to add is that my grandkids come and strum on this...are the black strings easier on fingers than better ones?

Hi Normagal, I would recommend learning how to string a uke yourself. For a Dolphin, get some Aquilas. With the strings that ukes use (non metal) they will be fine for kids.

It's seriously not that hard. Just remember that the strings take about a week or so to settle in, so you'll be doing some fine tuning adjustments during that time.

Oh, and Welcome to Ukulele Underground!

Thanks for the info. would you go ahead and restring it right away? Or are the black strings that come on it ok to start?
I really know nothing about all of this...but I've been reading a lot here. My interest developed when we were on a vacation with folks that are very musical, and I saw how much my grandkids loved it.
We've had a ball with it so far. We've watched some You Tube videos of kids songs- they sit and watch so engrossed.
Learning isn't coming as easy to me as I thought it would, but I intend to keep at it.

Changing strings on a Dolphin uke is pretty easy. Just pay attention to how the strings are tied at the bridge and how they're wound on the headstock posts, and then put the new strings on in the same manner. It might help to loosen all the strings first, then replace them one by one, instead of removing all the strings and then trying to remember how they were strung.