New to building: First two attempts at tenor ukulele

Habanera Hal

Reaction score
As said, I'm new to true lutherie. I've built cigar box guitars and ukes for about a year and wanted to step up my skill set. The master builders here will probably think my efforts are crude, but I've had fun with them and have learned a lot, and each one gets better.

My first - Walnut sides with lacewood back and top, maple neck, wenge fretboard and bridge, bolt-on style neck. The rosette and headstock binding are pearl white acrylic:

Christmas Ukes 073.jpg

Christmas Ukes 074.jpg

Christmas Ukes 075.jpg

My second - Bookmatched bloodwood sides and back, spruce top, cherry neck, wenge fretboard and bridge, Spanish-style neck attachment. I made the rosette from ebony, maple and bloodwood purfling:

Christmas Ukes 090.jpg

Christmas Ukes 104.jpg

Thank you for looking, and I appreciate all comments.

That's a nice looking uke! Don't think I could do that well...

Real nice Hal, you should be proud. Just as a suggestion for next time (and I'm betting there will be plenty of next times) you might want to make sure the backs of your necks are nicely rounded. Square necks are uncomfortable to play.
Nice details in the head stock too.

Great Work Hal. I like the Bozo Podunuvac style bodies too. I am going to do a necomplete neck carving video soon that will explain all if you are at all nervous about getting that round to the back.

The lacewood was used for the top and back - no bending there. The sides on that one are walnut which bent easily (my first time using heat and a mold, btw) Now the one with bloodwood sides was a whole different story. VERY difficult. Bloodwood is much harder than walnut and I cracked two sets in the bending jig before getting it right. I have another set made of cherry in the mold now (2 weeks) that went well except for one spot I scorched on the bending pipe. Hopefully it will sand out when I pop it out of the mold.