Sound problem

Normagal

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm a real newbie-and I know little about this. I've had a Makala Dolphin that I got about 2 weeks ago. It has the original strings, and did not have any set up done on it at the store that I know of. It had been sounding good, ever since I got my Snark tuner. But today, out of the blue, it sounds out of tune to me and my hubby. The tuner shows it as being in tune. Maybe we're crazy...but it just doesn't sound good. I've thought of getting better strings put on it. A visit to the music store may be in my near future...

Any ideas?
Thanks in advance.

I do want to say that I am having a lot of fun with it. I let my granddaughter strum on it today. She turned one of the tuning knobs, and I retuned it. She wasn't being rough with it or anything. Part of my desire to learn to play is to do it with my grandkids, so I want the to be able to gently play it.

Well, for what it's worth, my advice is to put a new set of Aquilas on it. I have em on my uke, and I love em. I've heard that Dolphins do very well with Aquilas if they are set up right.

Aloha Normagal,
does it sound flat??? if so could be the rainy weather or temperture affecting you uke or strings... try to play it later...welcome to the UU and our humble forums..Happy Strummings..

Hi Normagal

As Nickie suggests - try a set of Aquilla strings on your dolphin. The factory fitted strings are not the best and Aquilla strings suite the dolphin well.

I got martin flourocarbons on mine, sounds very nice with those.

I have been toying with the idea of trying a set of living water strings on a dolphin but have not ordered any yet.

Please make sure all of the screws on the tuners are tight first! It's common that they loosen a little and won't hold tune.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BXUcm_IAmTs

Thank UU member Oldephart for this video.