PDA

View Full Version : Uke lessons

Normagal
10-14-2012, 01:12 PM
Have you taken actual uke lessons, or have you taught yourself through online lessons?

hawaii 50
10-14-2012, 01:16 PM
Have you taken actual uke lessons, or have you taught yourself through online lessons?

i am a believer in personal lessons..group ones are fun..but i may start private lessons in a couple months..if you have the money and time ..go with the in person lessons..face to face a lot better if you want to get better faster..

Manalishi
10-14-2012, 11:02 PM
I was a lifelong guitarist,who suddenly lost all interest
in guitar following a major illness. Picked up a ukulele
and found that the chord shapes were the same,(but
making a different chord,if you follow!) and it was easy
after that!
Except that the uke is smaller,more portable,goes anywhere
(Unlike a guitar which often needs space) and just as versatile!

frankiefirefox
10-15-2012, 02:43 AM
I started with UU, youtube and books. I needed more personalized help. I live in an area where there are not many uke players, so groups are/were not really an option.

GKK
10-15-2012, 04:25 AM
All people learn differently.

It's difficult for me to learn by books or in group sessions. I prefer learning in my own time and progression with online video tutorials and play-a-longs.

Others may learn more from Music Theory and Group discussion/participation.

jglover
10-15-2012, 08:11 AM
I'm not real good on my own when it comes to learning timing, so I find the group lessons helpful for that. My local store offers a group lesson every week which I find very helpful to reinforce what I'm learning on my own. But, as GKK says, everyone learns differently so a group session may not be for you. I'm fortunate to have group classes at three levels, beginners and a couple of more advanced classes and we can pick and choose which class to attend, so you are not locked into one class. That makes it a very nice environment in which to learn in a group.