where would you buy a Uke?

hobnob

Reaction score
Beginner here, I bought my first Uke at Guitar Ctr last week. Sales person took it out of the box and put it in the case I purchased. Bought a tuner also. There was no help in showing how to tune the Uke, nor the sales rep tuning it. I should have been more pro-active. I don't think I will shop there again.

With that said, which mail order places do you use. I have been impressed with Uke Republic and N C Uke Academy. Any others I should give consideration?

Hawaii Music Supply. They're incredible. theukulelesite.com

Mim's ukes. Cheaper if you message her than if you buy on ebay since it saves on fees.

It depends on your local stores. A mom and pop music store can sometimes be an excellent place to buy, if they know ukes and can set them up. My local music store has sold their 400th uke last December and has a very good set up guy, plus they have a good selection, including Kamaka and Kanile'a. GC and Sam Ash big box stores usually just move product through their stores.

If you do not a good local store, then the previous messages shows you where to buy online. :)

I've had good luck with Hawaii Music Supply as well as picking up ukes at major festivals. But I have to tell you, there's nothing like trying out a uke in Hawaii, falling in love with it, seeing the pleasure in the eyes of the guys that built it . . . if you can do it someday, go for it. It's a very cool thing.

Hi Hobnob,
I'm don't know where you live but in San Jose, CA visit the Ukulele Source. I've made a road trip from Los Angeles to pick up an ukulele from Smiley and Janet! Island Bazaar in Huntington Beach also has a great variety of ukes. Love these stores because you can play a variety of ukuleles. Also had Ukulele Source ship instruments to me but that isn't there thing.