New to the site and to the uke.

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I have recently decided I want to learn how to play an instrument and decided on the ukulele. I will be getting my first uke for my birthday/Christmas present from my wife. I have settled on a brand/series which is the high tide acoustic/electric by Luna, and am looking for feedback on buying options. I went to a local music store and just played a few chords I learned on youtube to try and figure out which size would suit me best. I know the soprano felt way too small, and I was more comfortable with the concert and tenor models.Since I have no experience, I am still not sure which I liked better for the long run, but they both felt good to me. I am on somewhat of a budget so I guess my question boils down to this

HMS which I have seen recommended by many on this site has the concert model for about 240 + 16 shipping. I like the fact that they do a full setup, especially since I expect to use this uke for quite a while. http://www.theukulelesite.com/luna-concert-koa-electric-high-tide-concert-package.html

Amazon has the same model for 182 + free shipping which is a considerable discount. However it would be straight out of the box, and not sure where i could get it set up and checked locally or how much that would cost. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1389517282&pf_rd_i=507846

The tenor model on Amazon is 319 with a digital tuner and hard case with free shipping, same issues apply. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1389517282&pf_rd_i=507846

I have seen that previously HMS had the Concert size on sale for close to the Amazon price, so would it be recommended to just hold on and hope for another sale in the future? Should I just pull the trigger on the Amazon model and hope for the best in terms of quality control from the factory.