Intonation Question

T

tomthebaptist

I am relatively new to the ukulele, though I am teaching a first grade ukulele class (a real trip!). A couple of months ago I purchased a concert ukulele -- I was taken away by the sound. Then, about a week after purchase, I began hearing intonation issues with the instrument, especially as I played up the neck. Then I noticed discording - so bad that I had to tweek the tuning when I changed keys. Could this be due to the strings I'm using (D'Adarrio and Aquila)? Is there a better string set that you can recommend that might help correct problem.

May be overstepping my knowledge level but intonation issues are usually an issue of string height no?
Either at the bridge or the nut. Was your uke professionally setup. Or just out of the box?
What kind is it? And where did you buy it? This info may help
Those smarter than me give you a solid answer

It's not unusual for inexpensive and even relatively expensive "factory" ukes to have pretty bad setups from the factory. If you buy from chain retailers, online or B&M, you usually get a mystery box with a uke not touched since it left the factory.

The most severe intonation issues (i.e. those where the individual notes of a chord clash badly) usually occur in the "first position" and are the result of the slots in the nut not being cut deeply enough. This causes the action to be high and the strings to pull quite sharp when fretted at the first couple of frets. A high action at the bridge is usually less problematic, though many ukuleles do have some intonation issues up the neck. The scale is much shorter than a guitar, so very minor problems with string gage and tension have much greater impact than they do on guitar.