Friction tuners for 35cm scale length?

nobo13

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to all this uke building sort so I've got a question. Will a friction tuner be able to keep hold of a string on a 35cm scale length?

I've made a 3d model of a uke (pretty much the risa solid) that I'm going to 3d print, but I'm not sure if friction tuners will be able to hold the strings.

It's almost exactly like the risa solid except that it'll be two tuners on both top and bottom. I'm worried that the small scale length will have too much tension in the strings, and that the tuners won't hold them. Does anyone know anything about this or had experience trying to print off a uke?

Thanks,

ps, this is the model if you want a look: http://www.shapeways.com/model/747714/ukulele.html

If it works I'll make the design public

Use Pegheds.

Why would a short scale length (which that is not, by the way...) have too much tension if you use appropriately gauged strings? For a given gauge, for instance, the shorter the scale, the lower the tension. And note that many violinists use real friction pegs with steel strings at much higher tensions than you find with ukes.

Use Pegheds.

Why would a short scale length (which that is not, by the way...) have too much tension if you use appropriately gauged strings? For a given gauge, for instance, the shorter the scale, the lower the tension. And note that many violinists use real friction pegs with steel strings at much higher tensions than you find with ukes.
:agree:
you could do pegheds or have the posts made. like the plastic uke that was on kickstarter

Thanks guys, I'll try out pegs then. I've order some friction tuners anyway so I'll post again if they work.

Also for those interested, the price of printing my uke is under £45. Not so bad, I'll probably print another once I got all the bugs out of the prototype.