Beginner Setup

I just brought
(http://www.amazon.com/HOHNER-LU-21-Lanikai-Soprano-Ukulele/dp/B001EL6I8W/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t)
a Lanikai, it's my first time touching a ukulele
but I've been told it needs to be set up.
How do I do that?

Set up is adjust the action and intonation of your uke.

http://www.theukulelesite.com/ukulele-setup.html

If you are confident in your ability and have the tools it is not that difficult, otherwise, take it to a good guitar repair shop or luthier and have it done professionally. Around here it runs about $40 to have a uke set up.

40 bucks!??! that is way to much
Can i play it without being set up?

I just got nearly the same one, but concert size, yesterday. I have been playing it a lot after just tuning it. It does need some set up, nut and saddle. I have a lot of experience with doing those things, but am having too much fun playing it to do that right now. It can wait until the intonation gets to me enough.

Congrats on the new uke. They seem to come fairly highly recommended for an entry level uke.

Set up is adjust the action and intonation of your uke.

http://www.theukulelesite.com/ukulele-setup.html

If you are confident in your ability and have the tools it is not that difficult, otherwise, take it to a good guitar repair shop or luthier and have it done professionally. Around here it runs about $40 to have a uke set up.

great video..I loved the way he used a drill to tune up the strings :eek: