Ebony fretboard

gspears

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I am planning on using a W. African ebony fretboard and head stock veneer for an upcoming build. I ordered the ebony from LMII. I have not received them yet, but I had questions about staining the fretboard. I have seen many ukuleles with very dark black fret boards and headstock veneers. The ebony I purchased looks a lot less black in the photos. Is it common to stain the fretboard or veneer? Any thoughts on the pros and cons would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg

i wouldnt say its a common practice ( im an amature builder) but ive used the ebonizing dye stew-mac sells and theyre alright..i usually allow 2 days for it to dry after application as its an oil base. a local cabinet maker in my area gave me a cool tip of diluting the bugger with alcohol to speed up drying time. it does what it says on the bottle so i was satisfied.

I am planning on using a W. African ebony fretboard and head stock veneer for an upcoming build. I ordered the ebony from LMII. I have not received them yet, but I had questions about staining the fretboard. I have seen many ukuleles with very dark black fret boards and headstock veneers. The ebony I purchased looks a lot less black in the photos. Is it common to stain the fretboard or veneer? Any thoughts on the pros and cons would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Greg

West African Ebony, or what is sold most commonly as West African Ebony, is mostly just plain pretty, even with some grey streaking. Personally, I would leave it, it will grow on you. If you want a pure black fretboard, pick one up from Gilmer Wood, the Malagasy Ebony. Penetration of dye into West African Ebony is not going to be very deep, and right at your fingers. It may dye well, I have not tried. For the labor, time, questions, cost of dye, hassle, buy another, pure black fret board, and pass the one you have on to someone who will use it, if you are not going to.

I love the grey streaking.