PDA

View Full Version : Getting a grip on things

etf
11-02-2012, 03:20 AM
Hi everyone,
Not posted for a while now but been reading everything. I am a relative newbie. Had my first uke a good few months back now. Started out with a Kala acacia concert. Had lots of fun but kept switching back to guitar so didn't get to far. I then posted about getting a better ukulele, this went by the wayside as money was tight. However, just over a week ago I took the plunge and bought myself a Kanile'a K1-T tenor from SUS (thanks to Rob for the great advice). Well my love of the ukulele has been revived and this time I'm in it for the long haul. I just love the sound, looks, feel and everything about it. I decided I need to do this right this time. As many suggest I have started with Uncle Rods Bootcamp. Due to me being disabled I have all the time I need to practice. As a result I have not put this ukulele down. I have been through the Bootcamp and can play all the chords without needing to look at the fingering.
So, my ukulele family, what would you suggest being my next step? I want to do this right. I sort of play guitar but in respect of being a copy guitarist. By that I mean I learn new songs off You Tube etc parrot fashion. By that I mean I have no structure, it takes me ages to learn a riff and at the end of it I don't know why it goes with the music it's just that I learnt it because the other guy played it. Don't know if this is making any sense? I quickly forget the piece I have learnt due to the fact I have no foundation to what I am doing (or it could be me being nearly 54 and the brain cells are failing).
Anyway, with the ukulele I want to do it right this time. I need a structure to my learning, don't get me wrong i still want to play my favourite songs and have fun but in a way that I remember because I have followed the groundwork. Don't want to be running and falling all the time. I want to walk and build up speed to be able to run and enjoy every second.