A or An Ukulele

pakhan

Reaction score
Hey folks,

Can I ask, is it a Ukulele or an Ukulele?

Warmest regards,
Terence

That depends on if you pronounce it you-kulele or oo-kulele. I'm not an expert on this at all, but I think in hawaii it is "an oo-kulele", and on the mainland it is more often "a you-kulele". I think both are acceptable. Just to mix it up a bit more I think you could also spell ukulele like this: ukElele.

Last edited:
Yup.

If you pronounce it as if it began with the consonant "y" then it would be "a ukulele". If you pronounce it the Hawaiian way (beginning with the "oo" sound) then it would be "an 'ukulele". The apostrophe in 'ukulele is part of the Hawaiian spelling.

That depends on if you pronounce it you-kulele or oo-kulele. I'm not an expert on this at all but I think in hawaii it is an oo-kulele and on the mainland it more often a you-kulele. I think both are acceptable. Just to mix it up a bit more I think you could also spell ukulele like this: ukElele.

I've discovered that you have to be careful where on the mainland you say you-kulele instead of oo-kulele. If I say you-kulele in front of my Hawaiian ukulele instructors or almost anyone in either of their classes, I'll get a reaction varying from a gentle reminder that the instrument is an oo-kulele to strange looks. By and large, though, the responses to the question at the start of this thread are correct that both pronunciations are considered acceptable by pronunciation authorities like dictionaries. For what it's worth, the apostrophe in 'ukulele is called an 'okina in Hawaiian, and, technically, it differs from an English apostrophe in that the round heavy part is at the bottom, like the quotation marks at the beginning of a quote, and not at the top, as is the case with apostrophes. The use over time of typefaces that do not distinguish between the shapes of beginning and end quotation marks has sort of mooted this distinction. Here's more about this for anyone who's interested.