PDA

View Full Version : A or An Ukulele

pakhan
11-04-2012, 02:14 AM
Hey folks,

Can I ask, is it a Ukulele or an Ukulele?

Warmest regards,
Terence

collarbone
11-04-2012, 02:56 AM
That depends on if you pronounce it you-kulele or oo-kulele. I'm not an expert on this at all, but I think in hawaii it is "an oo-kulele", and on the mainland it is more often "a you-kulele". I think both are acceptable. Just to mix it up a bit more I think you could also spell ukulele like this: ukElele.

buddhuu
11-04-2012, 04:01 AM
Yup.

If you pronounce it as if it began with the consonant "y" then it would be "a ukulele". If you pronounce it the Hawaiian way (beginning with the "oo" sound) then it would be "an 'ukulele". The apostrophe in 'ukulele is part of the Hawaiian spelling.

mds725
11-04-2012, 05:16 AM
That depends on if you pronounce it you-kulele or oo-kulele. I'm not an expert on this at all but I think in hawaii it is an oo-kulele and on the mainland it more often a you-kulele. I think both are acceptable. Just to mix it up a bit more I think you could also spell ukulele like this: ukElele.