Martin S1 Pre War

Sari

Reaction score
Would any one know the approximate value of an early 1930's Martin S1, all original, very good condition and excellent playing shape.

I'm no expert but I've seen them sell on Ebay for around $600 to 1200 depending on condition. Then again I paid $66 for the one I have .

So pre-war Martin Style 1, depending on condition & the marketplace where offered, would/could go for $500 - $1500 - notice that Pukulele Pete gave you approximately the same answer.

But, if you call it a Martin S1, it wouldn't be pre-war & certainly not 1930. Be specific or you won't see much interest. The Martin SO & S1 are relatively recent Martin ukes, with nowhere near the value or quality of a vintage Martin.

Just watch a few ebay auctions for a couple of weeks & you'll see widely ranging prices being paid for Martin's from that time period in all manner of condition.

Hope this helps, Mahalo

So pre-war Martin Style 1, depending on condition & the marketplace where offered, would/could go for $500 - $1500 - notice that Pukulele Pete gave you approximately the same answer.

But, if you call it a Martin S1, it wouldn't be pre-war & certainly not 1930. Be specific or you won't see much interest. The Martin SO & S1 are relatively recent Martin ukes, with nowhere near the value or quality of a vintage Martin.

Just watch a few ebay auctions for a couple of weeks & you'll see widely ranging prices being paid for Martin's from that time period in all manner of condition.

Hope this helps, Mahalo

Thanks. I did mean Martin Style 1.

Guy I met at the Tampa Bay Ukulele Getaway this past weekend got a Vintage Martin tenor at a yard sale in good condition for $70

Condition is really the key factor, which is why the price ranges you have been reading are so great. They tend to go more toward the lower end of these ranges, most often, however. If you get between $600.00 and $700.00, I think it would be fair.