First post, uke newbie...Seeking help to break a bad strumming habit! :)

Cath

Reaction score
Hi, I've just discovered this wonderful website and I'm very excited to see the terrific resources available!
I started playing the ukulele a few months ago, and I'm absolutely loving it. Having previously played the violin, piano and a bit of guitar, the uke is far and away the most enjoyable and satisfying instrument I've ever played.
When I started playing, I decided to concentrate on my left hand first, and sort out the right hand technique properly once I'd learned the chords. (A bad idea, I now realise! :eek: Much better to do both at once.) The consequence is, I've made pretty good progress with the left hand and learned lots of chords....but I got into the habit of strumming with my thumb, and I'm now struggling to switch to my index finger. I can hear that the sound is sweeter that way and chunking (which I'm currently trying to master) will be easier.
The problem I've hit is this: When I was strumming with my thumb, I must have got into the habit of slightly supporting the bottom of the uke with the index and middle finger of my right hand. So now I'm strumming with my finger, I find I kind of "lose control" of the uke as soon as I go up the fretboard or play a chord that involves barring all four strings. I've got so used to having that support underneath the instrument, I'm lost without it.
Is there a way round this? Am I doing something wrong? I'm really hoping I can get past this problem, as I feel like I've kind of gone backwards recently; having been playing quite fluently (albeit with the thumb) I'm now stopping and starting because of this "out of control" problem. I guess a strap would help, but I'd rather learn to do whatever everyone else is doing so I don't need one! :)
Apologies for the long post. Many thanks for reading this far, and for any tips offered on training myself to strum with the index finger.
Best wishes
Cath

Last edited: