Second Uke Purchase... one to last

big plucker

Reaction score
I am going to purchase a new ukulele so that I can learn and play as my daughter does. She is being taught ukulele in her grade 4 music class. I got her a cute little purple Emus soprano from a big online store that specializes in school purchases. D tuning with low A string… as is the common practice north of the 49th…

I have been playing guitar on and off for over 20 years. Mostly folk, some country and just about whatever catches my ear. I picked up a Mahalo Soprano about 10 years ago, but the low quality really didn't inspire me to keep at it. It wouldn't stay in tune for an entire song…. the intonation was way off anywhere beyond the 4th fret… it just sounded sour, no matter what I did with it. I gave it to the kids as a toy, where it was abused and then neglected and finally kicked to the curb in a garage sale.

I firmly believe that the quality of the instrument contributes directly to the enjoyment and therefore the inspiration to play and learn. Maybe I am just spoiled rotten by buying good kit… Had I cheaped out on my guitar, I am positive I would never have progressed near as far or quickly as I did. I had a passion to play because my instrument was well researched, well set up and of great quality.

I tend to buy well beyond my current needs as a way of future proofing as well as exacting more enjoyment from something, be it skis, chess sets, fishing gear, computer components, guitars and now a ukulele. I like quality, but I do have limits on how much I am willing to spend on this purchase. There is a point of diminishing returns with most items and I usually try and buy at that ‘sweet spot’. I like to be efficient with my money and I keep my gear a long time so like the ‘buy it once’ approach… I want something I can play every day and keep forever as my work horse. Eventually I’ll get a really nice high end instrument when, in time I know a lot more…