Salutory Warning...

Pete Howlett

Reaction score
If you are thinking of starting up in business making ukulele you may wish to read a thread here onthe Ukulele Cosmos forum. This is a UK based forum which I rarely post on these days. If you don't want to read the whole lot here is my post - it's a warning shot.

You have to learn to live below the minimum wage for a long time! Although I build sopranos there is a ceiling to what can be charged - they are alwaus made for less than cost and half my output this year has been sopranos. So go figure, I have effectively been working below cost for half the year... This craft is not for the faint hearted. My car mechanic charges £47 an hour here in Wales. I geta great service, good after sales/work support but it don't last and another six months...

Addendum:
I have been building since 1994, stopping and starting 4 times over this period. Only since the UOGB did the Jools Holland Hootenany and the real interest in ukulele took off has then even been half a chance of making a living at this. 130 YouTube videos, a diversity of business activity, constantly and embarassingly bigging upo my work (yes, I DON'T like doing it as much as I despair at the disdain from those who think doing so is cheap) has got me to this point; despite periods when illness has prevented me from filling orders, lossing clients as a result and thus opening the door to the competition! It is true that if you are first in the door you may stand a chance and have the privelege, like me of still having orders... Remember, I started the same time as KoAloha - had I taken up the offer at the time to set up my workshop in Hawaii things may have been a whole lot different both here and in Hawaii where I already had an impact but didn't have that all important 'Made in the USA' label! Late comers have benefited from a very long gestation period and yet there is still only room for a few bespoke builders in Europe. I gave up guitar building to become a ukule