Strumming and Singing

alphophil

Reaction score
What's up!

I finally bought my ukulele the other day :cool: I really wanted to go for a concert-sized uke but there is only one shop in my area and all their concerts were way too dear for my student budget haha

I ended up settling on a little Lanikai Kohala. It isn't the greatest uke in the world (not that I'm an expert - its my first one! :p) and it goes out of tune very easily, but its fine for a novice like me :)

Anyways, I was just wondering how long it took you all to strum chords and sing with ease? a few days of playing? a few weeks of playing? a couple of months of playing? What range are we talking here? :p I suppose many of you had previous guitar playing experience (which I haven't), so I'm sure that helped tremendously!

I'm starting to put the singing and strumming together. I've only begun with 3-chord songs and I found that when I began to recognise the strum pattern, I made greater progress with attempting to strum and sing along.

Trying to play and sing most definitely enhances my appreciation for many of you who do it with ease! It's tougher than I thought haha. Anyways, I'd be curious to see how long it took you all to do both at once!

Cheers,

Phil

Well, I'm not very coordinated. It was hard for me. I think it took me about two months of practicing every day before I could fluidly change chords. That was a long time ago so I can't say for sure. My cousin took about 5 minutes so it's an individual thing. I remember struggling with it. Once you get it though it comes naturally although learning new chords can take a while.

The singing and strumming together is easy. It's when you try to hula at the same time it gets hard.

Actually, there are a some songs that have a definitely differently strum and verse patterns teh seem to be at odds. I can never sing and play Sweet Jane at the same time, but after all these years I still try.