Never knew Uke strings made a difference...

Kreemer

Reaction score
Ive played guitar for 14 years and bass as long. I know strings can make a difference but I never though about it for Uke, which Ive been playing for 3 years. I know there's arguments on the subject but I'd like to hear a general agreement on good average strings for my Concert Uke.

PS also a bit knew to the whole low g high G thing... currently low g. does high G make it a bit brighter or what?

also sorry if this sounds like it should be in the beginners section. I'm really not though.

thank you.

Uke strings, like classical guitar strings last a lot longer than metallic guitar strings, but sooner later they break or stretch to the point where they sound dead or louse up intonation.

High G AKA high G re-entrant sounds brighter and has a more "traditional" or at least a more expected ukulele sound.

Low G or linear has a more mellow sound and is more conducive to solo playing, by the nature of the G being low like a guitar.

It's all a matter of personal preference.

Same here, guitar player for many years and a uke player now. I am a stickler for strings and have tried many sets trying to find the right one. I stopped by for a visit with Brian Griffin of Griffin ukes today. He had three of his recently finished concert Pinecones, identical except for the strings. All were southcoast string sets of different guages, soft/light. light/medium and lights.

The differences were incredible. The softer strings had a more softer quiet sound while the light/mediums were robust and much more volume. All are rentrant.