40th ngsaidg

thylton

Reaction score
Will be getting a Makala MK-C soon and was wondering if anyone had suggestions for a tuner and beginner song book. I am a complete novice, having never played any instrument.

thylton

You can't go wrong with a "snark" tuner. The SN-6 is only about $20

sn_6_ukulele.jpg

I can't help you with the book, sorry, but some one will be along with a good suggestion. :)

Last edited:
Sorry about the crazy title. Didn't realize the image verification was in the title line.

Thylton

Regarding the tuner: it should be a chromatic (clip-on) tuner in any case, don't get fooled by "special ukulele tuners" or the like. If you own a smartphone you might even consider a free app (e.g. DaTuner for Android) - no need to spend real money unless you need to tune in noisy environments.
Be prepared to tuning quite often in the beginning, new strings need a couple of days to settle properly

Recommending the book is pretty difficult without knowing you - Al Wood's "Ukulele for Dummies" might be worth a look (have a closer look at it in your local bookstore or a sneak preview on amazon) to get some basics right.
Or you start off with the online video lessons here on UU...

I don't own it, but I've heard good things about the book Ukulele for Dummies. I use the Snark SN-2 tuner, the red one.

There is an incredible wealth of information available online for beginner ukulele players. Take a look at the lessons here at UU and google "ukulele tutorial" or "beginner ukulele songs" and you will be on your way.

I have Ukulele for Dummies and it's very good. Lot's of useful information and covers both different styles of music and different styles of playing.

I'll second the snark SN2. I have two. I also have a Korg CA30 chromatic tuner which I use most of the time at home. DaTuner for Android is very useful though I mostly use it for setting up my flute when I put it together and rarely for my uke.