PDA

View Full Version : No Callouses.....And a solution

Karasu
11-14-2012, 03:48 AM
Hey,

Since I don't get to practice my Ukulele when I'm at work (silly, silly work), I haven't been able to develop callouses on my fingertips to the point of reduced playing pain yet. Since I love to practice during the precious time that I HAVE, I didn't want to miss out because I was in too much pain to play (I have sensitive fingers). So, with the aid of some duct tape, a short stack of index cards and 4 straightened paper-clips, I created:

Ukulele Simulator 1.0. As it's the first version, it has some drawbacks...the string area is not large enough to do full chord shapes for one thing.....but it serves the purpose. Now, at my desk or on the go, I can "fret" the paper clips and develop callouses just as if I was playing. It's already made a remarkable difference. I'm sure there's something like this available commercially...lol...but even though I am a classically trained pianist and wind/brass player I've never played a stringed instrument (piano doesn't count!) so i'm a complete N00b.

Anyway, there you have it....hope the picture is clear.

K

ukeeku
11-14-2012, 04:19 AM
Does it sit on the desk and you press your finger tips onto it?

Trinimon
11-14-2012, 04:48 AM
Necessity is the mother of invention rings true here. Cool. I use one of those stress squeeze things to strengthen the fingers for barre chords.

Karasu
11-14-2012, 05:37 AM
Does it sit on the desk and you press your finger tips onto it?

It can, or I can carry it with me to meetings or wherever else I go. Once my fingers have taken enough of a beating, I set it on my desk and come back to it when they are less sore. This sort of use seems to combine the effects of multiple short practice sessions throughout the course of the day. I'd love to be able to put in the PRACTICE that that would entail, but finger soreness seems to be an obstacle I can overcome with this device independent of access to my uke!