what constitutes a beginner

gratefulbruce

Reaction score
OK, so about 1.5 years ago I returned from a trip to my Dad's with my old Soprano and a Baritone uke. I've been playing them alot (multiple hours every week ~3 or 4), and have bought two more ukes. I am entirely self taught by downloading music on the web, and playing, as well as going from time to time to a local Uke jam. I have also looked briefly at some tutorials online, but have not gotten into them to much yet. I am a strummer (no picking yet) and a singer, I love to sing. How can I gauge my progress?

gratefulbruce

What constitutes a beginner?

It is a simple formula really:

U x K x E - f/u/n x 1.2345% = who cares? As long as you are enjoying it.

grasshopper, you have been playing over a year, you have more than 1 uke,have been to a jam, all that is left is to post to a Season [39th season [see contests] and you will have earned the coveted rank of seasonista.

If you are planning on playing gigs in front of an audience, I'd say you have a ways to go. If you are playing because you love to play and sing and are having fun in the process, then who cares what level you are at. You will get better with practice. I have a saying that I repeat to myself. Practice makes permanance. When I want to feel like really progressing, I put aside the songs with chords that I am having trouble mastering and devote time every day to them until I can play them without hesitation. It's a real ego booster to do that. Sometimes you feel as if you will never get your fingers to slide into position smoothly for certain chords and then one day...voila you can do it. That's progress. Good luck.

Sounds like you are making good progress. Kind of depends on what your goals are, remember the most important thing is to have fun and enjoy the trip.
^^^^yes!^^^^^