Point of frustration

DocDallas

Reaction score
I don't know if its me or the ukelele. Or both. But I'm really getting frustrated. I tune it with my Snark tuner and just practice chord progression. The easy chords like a7 and c sound fine. But my G, D, and F chords all either sound severly out of tune or plunky. When I double check the tuning, it's still in tune. I realize that I'm still an ultra beginner, having only had my uke for less than a month, and it very well could be me. But I also realize its a Mahalo and they tend to be sketchy. Any advice?

I would say it's one of two things. Either a poor setup, with the strings too far off the neck at the nut saddle, or both. It could also be that you are bending the strings slightly, or depressing them too hard, when playing some chords that have more fretted notes.

Well, this thing was not set up. I can tell you that the strings are a ways off the fret board towards the saddle, but not so bad near the nut.

Definitely a setup issue. That's very common even in factory instruments costing several times what the Mahalo does. What's happening is that the string slots in the nut are not deep enough so when you fret a string (especially at the first couple of frets) it pulls sharp. Since with most chords some strings are fretted and some are open this makes many chords very, very out of tune with themselves.

It's not too difficult to deepen the nut slots if you are patient. Work on one slot at a time and try to get it low enough that the string does not go sharp on the tuner when you fret it at the first fret. (I.e. the 2nd string fretted is an F, not a few cents above an F, and so on.)

If you go too deep, the string will start buzzing when it is played open. So, it's a balancing act. If you do happen to go too deep you can use just a dab of super glue to build the slot back up again and start over.