PDA

View Full Version : Finishing with no ventilation

JamieFromOntario
11-19-2012, 03:14 AM
Anyone have any idea what I can use as a finish? The only work area I have has no ventilation whatsoever.

dhoenisch
11-19-2012, 03:20 AM
You can use Tru-oil with really good results, or do a french polishing. I'd vote for Tru-oil though for the mere ease of it. Of course, I'm not a professional, and others on this board will give you much better tried and true ideas.

Dan

Pukulele Pete
11-19-2012, 03:33 AM
A good shellac will have only an alcohol smell , which I like.

Sven
11-19-2012, 03:35 AM
If "no ventilation whatsoever" means exactly that, I'd pick french polish over tru-oil. But there might be some kind of finish with even less odor. French polishing is something that takes a bit of practice, and some woods are easier than others.

Sven

JamieFromOntario
11-19-2012, 03:42 AM
You can use Tru-oil with really good results, or do a french polishing. I'd vote for Tru-oil though for the mere ease of it. Of course, I'm not a professional, and others on this board will give you much better tried and true ideas.

Dan

I'm a little hesitant to do a French polish - it seems rather involved. Also, there are no good supplies of Tru-oil in Canada other than Cabelas, and they're out of stock...

ModlrMike
11-19-2012, 03:47 AM
I'm a little hesitant to do a French polish - it seems rather involved. Also, there are no good supplies of Tru-oil in Canada other than Cabelas, and they're out of stock...

Have you tried looking for a gun smith? They might have it in good quantity. Conversely if you're near the border you can pop down to the States and pick some up.

JamieFromOntario
11-19-2012, 03:54 AM
If "no ventilation whatsoever" means exactly that, I'd pick french polish over tru-oil. But there might be some kind of finish with even less odor. French polishing is something that takes a bit of practice, and some woods are easier than others.

Sven