PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with questions..

Liamfsus7
11-19-2012, 08:20 AM
Hello there!

Ive been playing for about two months and Ive got a question.

I bought a cheap Mahalo firstly and hated it. It was okay to practice on but horrible to listen to - so I just bought a "Puretone Kahana"? for 50, which is much much better.

Im learning plenty of songs from youtube and tab sites but Im getting kindof frustrated with strumming the same chords for every song - people can never tell what song Im playing until I sing along.

Is this just my song choices? Or do these sites dumb songs down to make them easier?

I want to fingerpick riffs and play real detail but just cannot find anywhere to help D;

So, can anyone point me in the direction of real in depth tutorials?
Thanks

ukeeku
11-19-2012, 08:31 AM
I found a great place to learn HERE (http://ukuleleunderground.com/video-library/)
If the chords are the same (I assume a lot of G C Am F, or same thing different key) then you are more than likely playing pop songs. Nothing wrong with that.
Strumming, that can take time. A lot of beginner players tend to do an up down with little variation.
About dumbing down songs. A lot of songs are pretty easy chord wise. A lot of times the song is in a different key to make it easier to play.

ukeeku
11-19-2012, 08:31 AM
I forgot, WELCOME TO UU!

Liamfsus7
11-19-2012, 08:55 AM
Great! Thankyou :)

Newportlocal
11-19-2012, 09:21 AM
Quite a few songs here too.
http://www.scorpexuke.com/songs.html
But you can't go wrong with uke minutes. Good stuff.

OldePhart
11-19-2012, 09:28 AM
Im learning plenty of songs from youtube and tab sites but Im getting kindof frustrated with strumming the same chords for every song - people can never tell what song Im playing until I sing along.

Is this just my song choices? Or do these sites dumb songs down to make them easier?

I want to fingerpick riffs and play real detail but just cannot find anywhere to help D;