"Vintage Gibson" with tuning issues or New Martin?

chimbleysweep

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a beginner and for my birthday received a vintage "Gibson" ukulele that has an issue with its tuning machines. I only have a few days left to exchange it, and the store has a Martin S1 that's about $80 more. I'm trying to quickly decide on whether to just get the Martin, or try to fix the Gibson. What is the likelihood that replacing the tuning machines with new ones (Grovers, probably geared ones like my guitars) will fix the problem?

Although there is no name on the headstock, it was sold as a Gibson (c. 1960s). Compared to images online, it appears that it could be a Uke-1 (Photos: http://photoset.com/q42e13gs).
We were told that it was likely obtained by an employee, which is why it is unmarked. Further corroborating this is a black "alligator" case with a blue interior where someone wrote her name and address, Kalamazoo, MI. The inside of the uke is stamped "W1272 21". The finish is chipped and spidery, but the wood appears OK. It sounds great! The only problem is that the tuning machines, particularly the A, can't hold a tune (yes, I've adjusted the screws). I can't get through one song without it going to G# or G.

While the Martin is a nice ukulele (compared to the cheapo ones I was first looking at) and has a very even sound, the Gibson sounds better. It's a fuller, more resonating tone. So, which one to choose?

Welcome to the UU forum, chimbley!

Stick with the better-sounding uke. You'll be glad you did.

I'd keep the Gibson, especially since you think it sounds better. Maybe it just has new strings and they need to settle in!

You can always get a new Martin later.