Favorite instructional books?

Ethan

Reaction score
As the holidays inch closer, I think that I will be asking from some uke instructional books but which ones? Has anyone come across any books that were just the bees knees for a relative beginner? I am partial to ones that include cds as it really helps me to hear what I am looking at. I am intentionally not limiting it to a specific style or technique because I am interested in all of it. Thanks for sharing any of your favorites.

If you are a bit above beginner I would recommend "Fretboard Roadmaps" for the Uke. It gets you off the nut and will teach chord shapes. Some may be too heavy but if you plow through it once and come back a second time you will learn a lot.

Happy holidays!

As I wasn't a complete beginner, I got the Hal Leonard Ukulele Method Vol 2 and found it was really useful: See my review here:

So I am guessing that Volume 1 would be brilliant for a newbie. The set does come with CDs too and although my link takes you to Amazon UK, they are available in the States.

*Puts hands in pockets and whistles...*

(seriously I didn't write tutor books, but books to accompany those - link in signature)

:D

I concur with the recommendation of "Ukulele for Dummies".

I also have Mr maz's "What Ukulele Players Really Want To Know" which is a useful reference book for Uke owners, though it possibly needs a section on resisting UAS.

I have also been enjoying learning some fingerstyle technique with Mark Nelson's "Learn to Play Fingerstyle Solos For Ukulele".

These are the most useful three books I have found so far.

How new is "relatively new"? Emedia Ukulele Method with DVD not only lets you hear, but see how to implement techniques. I also concur with the recommendations for "Ukulele for Dummies"

I downloaded the Dummies book - the version that has video included. That makes it real simple to just click on the video as you go.