New player, new uke--help!

jeffcoop

Reaction score
I'm a longtime guitar player who, over the last few months, found myself playing my 7-year-old daughter's ukulele (a Makala MK-S) a fair bit. Although it's in dire need of a setup, it's fun to play with, and I was enjoying it enough (and had in mind adding a ukulele part to a recording I'm working on) that I decided to treat myself to a decent instrument. After browsing these boards for a couple of weeks, I decided on a Mainland red cedar concert--I liked the idea of getting an instrument that had received some personal attention and a setup, and as a Hoosier I liked the idea of supporting a Hoosier business. So I placed my order on the Mainland website on Friday, and I waited.

The ukulele arrived this morning, and first impressions were very positive. It's beautiful. I tuned it up, started playing chords on the first three frets--very nice sound. Then I started playing up the neck. Uh oh. It's not fret buzz, exactly (or at least what I think of as fret buzz), but the notes up the neck become fuzzy and indistinct, with a very quick decay, once past the third fret. And the intonation on the A string is way off--by the time I get to the 12th fret, it's about an eighth of a step flat (about 1/4 of the way from A to Ab, in other words--way, way off to the ear). It's not quite that far off from, say, the fourth through eighth frets, but it's still audibly flat, even to my less than perfect ears.