Philippine Uke!

edmarz

Reaction score
i have been looking for a tenor uke here in manila but to no avail. most of shops i'd been don't even know what kind of uke they are selling. anyways, i found one uke surely is not a soprano, with 19 frets and steel strings (like ones on a guitar). being a beginner, i bought it anyway, thinking that i could have a good start on it.

wow! i presumed that you are "kabayan". i hope i could travel again somewhere in bicol area, so that i could shop for uke. i am not satisfied with the one i bought in manila, but like i'd said it's enough for a beginner. but surely i will buy a very good one. nice hearing from you "kabayan"(?)

Last edited:
Hey, I'm Adrian. Im filipino too. I just started playing ukulele about a week ago! I got my uke in hawaii $23 Leolani...I know its weak but i still suck so... its good enough for now! :p and its "Kaba-bayan" or something. haha xD

'pre, unless you have someone actually custom build you an ukulele to your specs, its going to be hard to find one of decent quality there in 'pinas. but what you can do is get yourself a set of classical guitar strings and use them on your ukulele (the one with the steel strings). it will end up being tuned as a "low G", but theres nothing wrong with that.

other than that, you could always try... what was that place called again?.... its either divisoria or recto. im thinking divisoria though.

obtw... sa'an ka sa kabite? im from kawit. but lived mostly in dasmarinas while i was going to La Salle-EAC. one of the infamous "amboys".

Maybuhay and welcome to the forum! My girl's family is from Cavite.

i'm originally from pangasinan, but now living in imus, cavite. yeah you're right a customized uke would be a great a idea, but, finding one here in manila or nearby areas is somewhat difficult. hence, i am planning to modify a small guitar, do you think that would be possible, guys? love to hear from you guys!