Advice on Accidental String Muting

Karasu

Acute UAS Patient
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm a rank beginner, but in between the fun of learning chords, scales and the fret roadmap, I'm challenging myself with a little finger picking and strumming fun stuff as well.

I'm working on a piece that requires that I fret the E (second) string at the 8th fret with my third finger, and the A (first) string at the 5th fret with my index finger. I have average size hands, and I'm playing a Tenor Uke. For some reason, that seems an awkward stretch for me, but my difficulty lies in the fact that my fourth finger often accidentally mutes the A string as I fret the E string. It seems that my third finger isn't exactly vertical enough to not hit the A with the pad. Trying to get the finger more vertical hasn't worked so far.

Any suggestions when this happens? I do need to keep my 4th finger on the string since it'll be picked quite quickly after the A.

For those curious, I'm following Corey from HMS's tutorial (YouTube) for Jake's "While My Guitar Gently Weeps". It's pretty difficult, but it's loads of fun, and even though it's pretty advanced for me, I can play most of the first part slowly but reasonably well...save for this little conundrum. I sense it won't be the last time my fingers will defy me....

Thanks!

K

Update: This post was edited to reflect the fact that as a N00B, I inadvertently reverted to my piano training and called my ring finger my FOURTH finger instead of my THIRD finger. In any case, the stretch involved is third finger on E 8th fret to first finger on A 5th fret. Sorry for my N00Bosity. I've corrected it in my post.

I

Last edited:
Get a concert uke!!