PDA

View Full Version : Standard Noob Mistake

Jockulele
11-27-2008, 07:52 AM
Okay, I went ahead and bought a Mahalo U320 before I registered on this board and now realise i got it the wrong way round. :o
I want to see if I'm going to enjoy the uke before I splash out on something nice ( for which I will of course seek advise) but meantime I would like to improve what I got.
I have the Aquilas but it's my first time with friction tuners and I'm having trouble tuning it up and keeping it there so I plan to get some geared ones.
Other than that, what my options for improving the sound?

Cheers

Jock

UkEdman90
11-27-2008, 09:14 AM
to improve sound smash it on the floor and get a better uke... just snag a Lanikai or a KALA sound decent for the price. GREAt starter ukes and when u ding em u dont loose sleep over it

russ_buss
11-27-2008, 09:23 AM
...I want to see if I'm going to enjoy the uke before I splash out on something nice...

i think that was a wise decision. do you hate the sound of your current uke? don't get discouraged by the fact that people trash the brand. play the hell out of it, then upgrade if you feel it necessary.

Dibblet
11-28-2008, 04:07 AM
... I'm having trouble tuning it up and keeping it there so I plan to get some geared ones.

Have you tried tightening the screws on the ends of the tuners? They may be too slack for it to stay in tune.

freedive135
11-28-2008, 04:56 AM
Tighten the screws on the back of the tuners alittle 1/4 turn maybe, my Flea's friction tuners slip when it gets cold.
Strech the strings out alittle that helps break them in faster.

Your Mahalo is just fine to start with but not much other than changing the strings will help its sound.
Use it to learn chord shapes till yuo get a nicer Uke, even the most expencive Uke sounds BAD when you mess up on your fingering!!!!

When you get better but that Mahalo in your car/backpac, camping gear or give to a friend that wants to learn.

These guys love their Mahalo's it seems...