Intonation problems

michaeloceanmoon

Reaction score
Hello experienced ukers!
I started playing uke less than a year ago, (though I'm a long time guitarist). I regret not spending $800 on a Collings UT1 which blew me away, yet I didn't know a C chord at the time so my wife wasn't behind the purchase, and I was timid. Now I love uke more than the guitar! After last holidays the only decent uke I could find was the Ohana solid rosewood concert. For $175 it sounds great, but the intonation is off on the E and A strings, (I have to flatten those strings to get chords to sound in tune. Is there anything that can be done? The E and A strings get sharper the further up the neck I go... The G and the C strings are ok though.
thanks!!!