Any advice on playing in front of people?

addicted2myuke

Reaction score
I have been playing for almost 2 years and am a superstar when I play alone in my home. Now my nephew and I are asked to play some Christmas songs at our family Christmas party. We have rehearsed and have several songs down. We play well together and rarely screw up. I'm not sure that will be the case when I am playing in front of 20 or more people, some friends of the family included. Yikes! We have printed off song lyrics so everyone can sing along. Thank goodness, because my singing voice is something to be desired. Any advice on how to not screwup because of stage fright? Thanks and happy holidays to all.

Usually people say to imagine the audience naked, but given that this is a family event I advise against it.

I'm not sure why people say that anyway, but just don't do it.

If everybody else is singing, maybe you don't have to and can just concentrate on playing? Maybe a beer before hand? Read: A beer, not a case.

I'm guessing after a song or two you will start feeling more comfortable. It sounds like fun. You are playing in a very safe environment.

Have a great time. Next time you play in front of people it will be easier. This I do know. It gets easier each time.

Practice twice as much as you think you need to! Warmup in a backroom somewhere and remember these people will probably love it regardless of how well you play!

I'll be honest, the first song will probably be uncomfortable for you if you don't like being the center of attention. But that's all it will take, because once you're warmed up and you've made it through a couple bars and you see the earth hasn't split beneath your feet and swallowed you whole, you'll see there's nothing to be afraid of. You know what you're doing and you've practiced, just be confident!

The biggest key I can offer from my (limited) [recent] performance experience is to have fun with it. if you're having fun, mistakes won't matter.