PDA

View Full Version : Fingerpicking - fretted strings sound dull?

wrbriggs
12-13-2012, 11:08 AM
I've been playing strummed and flatpicked guitar for a little over a year and a half, and recently received a ukulele as a gift (Kala KA-C). Strummed, it sounds quite nice, and I started playing my way through the "Complete Idiot's Guide to Ukulele" book; as soon as I set out to learn some of the simple fingerpicking patterns, I immediately noticed that the fretted strings have maybe 1/4 the volume of the open strings. Is this just expected, and I need to compensate by picking harder?

katysax
12-13-2012, 11:57 AM
My guess is that you are just not used to the difference in sound between flatpicking a steel string guitar and fingerpicking on nylon strings. You might not be fretting cleanly, but my guess is that you just aren't used to the difference in sound. Don't pick too hard it won't sound good. I don't pick hard at all.

anthonyg
12-13-2012, 10:45 PM
I've been playing strummed and flatpicked guitar for a little over a year and a half, and recently received a ukulele as a gift (Kala KA-C). Strummed, it sounds quite nice, and I started playing my way through the "Complete Idiot's Guide to Ukulele" book; as soon as I set out to learn some of the simple fingerpicking patterns, I immediately noticed that the fretted strings have maybe 1/4 the volume of the open strings. Is this just expected, and I need to compensate by picking harder?

Strumming is always louder than picking however there shouldn't be that much difference between picking an open or fretted string volume wise. I'm a bit bamboozled. Yes nylgut/nylon strings aren't as bright as steel strings. Nothing wrong with picking hard. Sometimes I really snap the strings back.

Anthony

OldePhart
12-14-2012, 01:51 PM