A Baritone string question

hammer40

Reaction score
I'm new to the bari, and looking to experiment with strings a little bit. I've noticed that when others are using nylon guitar strings which are EADGBE, they usually use the ADBE strings from the set and not the DGBE. What is the reason for this? Is it because the G string is a treble string and usually somewhat larger in diameter? If a bari is DGBE, wouldn't you then just use the DGBE strings in the guitar set?

I have no music theory, so please excuse my ignorance while I try to learn about these things.

... I've noticed that when others are using nylon guitar strings which are EADGBE, they usually use the ADBE strings from the set and not the DGBE. What is the reason for this?....

It's simply because the Baritone has a shorter 20" scale (vibrating length of string), than the typical 650mm scale of a classical guitar. When you go to a shorter scale and keep the same pitch, if your strings gauges don't go up, your tension is too slack.

With the arrangement you're suggesting, your 1st and 2nd strings stay the same - now they will be too loose. You could use the 5-2 guitar strings, but making a guitar 5th string into a Baritone 4th string gives a thicker, squeakier string than most ukulele players want to deal with.

Companies that offer dedicated strings for this tuning take a different approach - they have proper tension on the plain strings, and on the wound strings they use a higher metal to "nylon" core ratio to bring the diameter down. There's a reason this isn't done on guitar strings, however. That's because the high ratio metal strings also have a more "metallic" sound.