Is this a good quality Ukulele?

jsuarez

Reaction score
I want to get my first uke & learn how to play it. I want to get a concert size, because I feel that the soprano would be too small for me. I am really interested in this ukulele:

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Luna-Gu...kulele-106095201-i1531922.gc#customer-reviews

I've read several reviews and I'm a little concerned with the tuning. I read like two reviews that said that the uke goes out of tune very easily and very often. Does anyone own this uke or a Luna uke? & is it a good brand? I'm new to the ukulele word so i could use a little help. Also any other tips about anything or any other options of ukuleles i can buy.
Thanks a lot!

I have heard the same, and after owning a Luna soprano, I agree with what you have heard. The intonation is poor, and although it';s inexpensive, it's a waste of $90, IMHO.

In the under $100 price range, if I was to buy from Guitar Center, I'd buy this one (as long as I could play it in the store):
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Cordoba-15CM-Concert-Ukulele-H63578-i1559526.gc

It is a good brand, and my Cordoba concert is very good for the price.

If you buy it from Hawaiian Music Supply, even though it's an inexpensive instrument, they will assure that you don;t get a "clinker"--they even have a play sample video--check it out here!
http://www.theukulelesite.com/cordoba-15cm-mahogany-concert.html

Same price, only a little for shipping (but no sales tax like GC), and they will treat you right. They sell only ukuleles, make extra effort to have a customer for life in you. Andrew and his staff will be good to you...note that I have never met them, not even been to the store, but I have bought five ukuleles from them. They're top notch.

Cheers! I think you did right to ask. Mahalo, jsuarez.

Last edited:
Welcome to UU, jsuarez!