Heavy gauge strings -- an issue?

Nicko

Reaction score
Noob here. I just ordered and rec'd a "combo" sampler pack of strings from Southcoast. Light, medium, and heavy. Just checkin' out the stringville landscape.

Will I be presenting a stress and strain challenge to my Martin S1 if I strap on these heavies? Any advice will be appreciated -- and especially any experience-based advice.

tanks-sm.jpg

I just strung up a baritone with a set of Southcoast heavy strings with a high D. They sound great and the tension is perfect. I think you're risking damage putting those on a soprano.

IIRC Dr.Bekken put them on a soprano, and allthough it's still in one piece he was reaaly worried about them snapping the neck/bridge of. Don't do it.

IIRC Dr.Bekken put them on a soprano, and allthough it's still in one piece he was reaaly worried about them snapping the neck/bridge of. Don't do it.

I put the heavies on a cheapo soprano. The tension is VERY high. Do not put them on a ukulele that you are concerned about. The sound, however, was beyond belief. Still, I would not do it again. The heavy gauge strings are just right for a baritone; maybe a tenor in Bb tuning.

I remember on Southcoast website, it actually alert owner not to use heavy gauge strings on soprano. I am glad nothing happen to your instrument.
I just checked but I am not able to access their website at the moment (23rd Dec, 10.00pm Western Australia time)

Any doubts, I'd check with Southcoast and follow their recommendations. Great customer service and info.

OK, I'll be odd man out... :)