Do I need a better condensor mic

garyg

Reaction score
I bought a Zoom H4n for general home and field recording but wondered if I should get a better condenser mic set up for home recording. This is for youtube videos but some songs I convert to MP3 for distribution. I have computer programs to do soundboard work although I don't really use them now but I might in the future. Any suggestions if I do buy another mic, and thoughts on whether I should? TIA, g2

i just bought a behringer q100usb mixer and pair of behringer studio monitor, a autotechnica condenser mic .. i am completely new to this gadgets, still trying to learn plus using audacity software on a laptop

The Zoom H series are very good for what they are. I had a Zoom H2 until the batteries leaked and ruined it and, while it's by no means studio quality, it was certainly adequate for most anything I was likely to need.

I believe Ken Middleton records most or all of his videos using a Zoom H4.

I know that the Zoom H2 was much better for close mic'ing acoustic instruments than either a Shure 58 or 57 (neither of which is designed for that purpose but they were what I had on hand to compare with when my Zoom was working).

John

Pick up one of these (heck, they're inexpensive, get two; one for the uke and one for your voice):
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B003VP9VI8

Here's a review from a kinda well respected industry rag:
http://recordinghacks.com/reviews/tapeop/mca-sp1/

More tech if you want more:
http://recordinghacks.com/microphones/MCA/SP1

Later, pick up a Mackie 402-VLZ3 (used should be fine) the mic preamps are better than the Zoom. If you want American made, buy an older Mackie 1202 used. Take a line out from the Mackie, to the line in on the Zoom, and the Zoom becomes a basic digital recorder.

Now that you've done all that make sure you use the least destructive conversion method possible, otherwise it's all for nought.