Do most people teach themselves or take lessons? Is it worth getting lessons?

Youkalaylee

Reaction score
I was wondering how common it is for people to pay for lessons on playing the ukulele. I've got the impression from this website that most people are self-taught.

But for those who have had formal teaching outside of cyber-space, do you think its really helped? There's so much out there on the Internet for free I've been wondering whether I should seek lessons. Although saying that I can't find any local tuition and the closest ukulele group doesn't appear to want new members (but at the moment until I pass my driving test Ill struggle to commit to either).

I'm enjoying learning on my own but I think having somebody sat by me who knows their stuff would really speed up my learning, and might give me a bit more structure.

I am self/website -taught and i learned a lot . but ive also hit a plateau and really cant go any further . If there was any lessons with in reasonable driving distance from me id surly take them , and id suggest if you can find lessons to go for it

I was a hopeless fiddler till I took a year of lessons and now I'm just a poor fiddler ;) - But at least I am not banished to the mountains to practice nowadays :)

If you can take lessons, I think it is a valuable experience. But you can learn a lot from playing with more experienced players who are willing to show you their tricks too :)

i am self taught, the only thing i struggle with is jumping from one thing to another, like trying clawhammer, triple stroke, mute playing, and the need to play songs, instead of really nailing the basics,
so in new year i am giving a club a try to see how i get on, hopefully it will give me some constructive progress, rather then piece meal playing( mind you i have really enjoyed learning on my own, ) playing with others i am sure will help me to play better